About Tribhuvan University

Tribhuvan University (henceforth, TU) is the first national institution of higher education in Nepal. It was established in 1959 A.D. and named after the late King Tribhuvan. The Central Administrative Office and the Central Campus of the university are located on the north eastern facade of Kirtipur, an ancient and small town located five kilometers away from downtown Kathmandu. There are five Institutes, four Faculties, thirty eight Central Departments, four Research Centres and sixty Constituent campuses in TU and out of them one Institute, three Faculties, 32 Departments, 3 Research Centres and two Constituent campuses are at Kirtipur. The university at Kirtipur is spread over an area of 154.77 hector ( 3042-5-2 ropani).

After the second democratic movement of 2006, the Prime Minister of Nepal is the ceremonial chief, the Chancellor of the University, while the Minister of Education is the Pro-Chancellor. The Vice Chancellor is the Chief Executive of the university. He is assisted by the Rector in academic programmes and the Registrar in financial management and general administration. TU is a non-profit making autonomous institution funded by the Government of Nepal.

Main objectives of TU

  The university was established with the following objectives:  

  • To produce skilled manpower essential for the overall development of Nepal;
  • To preserve and develop historical and cultural heritage of the nation;
  • To accumulate, advance and disseminate knowledge ; and
  •  To encourage and promote research in Arts, Science, Medicine, Engineering, Agriculture, Management, Education and other vocational fields

Councils of TU

There are five councils constituted as major decision-making bodies of the university.

  • University Council

It is the supreme decision-making body on policies, budget, and rules and regulations for running the university. It consists of 52 members.

  • Executive Council

Executing the decisions of the university council, making decisions on grants, giving affiliation to private campuses, and appointing the university officials are its major functions. It consists of seven members.

  • Academic Council

The academic council makes decisions on educational policies and practices regarding curricula, teaching, examinations and research and comprises of fifty members.

  • Research Coordination Council

It formulates policies on TU research activities, approves guidelines for researchers and coordinates the functions of university level research organizations. The Research Division is the secretariat of the council which publishes TU Journal, Research Bulletin and Statistical Bulletin. Besides, it monitors mini-researches for teachers. It consists of 27 members.

  • Planning Council

The planning council performs an advisory role of preparing short and long-term plans, developing annual programmes and evaluating programme implementation. It consists of twenty-nine members.

For More Information Please Visit www.tribhuvan-university.edu.np